top of page

Meet Tarzana Stylist Model : Sophia Wu


Today we’d like to introduce you to Sophia Wu.

Sophia, please share your story with us. How did you get to where you are today? I was born and raised in Southern California. I took an interest in the creation of clothes and costumes when I was asked to be in “Give My Regards to Broadway” at age 12 and the costumer for the show asked me to be her apprentice back then to assist her in fittings with the show performers as well as myself.

Since then I decided to move to Northern California/Bay Area to get my double Bachlors and Masters in Fashion with emphasis in film. During that time I also traveled a lot around the world and I had the opportunity to meet people and explore the different cultures and why people wear what they wear in that country or that area which inspired me to understand style and create something wearable, avant-garde , but still spoke about that person’s personality, empowerment, and confidence. I had an immense passionate interest in the way clothes are styled on people and the way it created art of movement in fashion magazines and runway shows. I just started doing impromptu shoots in the beginning and then before I knew it, word started spreading and I started getting noticed by photographers and creative directors in the industry i.e. , broadway group, vogue, elle, (just a few to name) and got asked to style fashion shows around the world. Recently this year I styled for one of the most elite Serbian Designer George Styler at LAFW which is featured on Vogue and Harpers Bazaar and other magazines and newspapers. I also styled many celebrities for various music videos, tv shows, and films.

Has it been a smooth road? The road to any job you want especially industry jobs is always a struggle in the beginning when you think to yourself “this is risky, should I do it?” and of course there was not a lot of paid opportunities in the beginning, but for me I always kept the faith and was really persistant in what I wanted to do eventhough my family did not support me in being a fashion stylist. It was difinitely hard knowing my family did not support me in my career at the time, however I knew I had a creative soul and noone’s opinion could take that away because I wanted to change the world in the way they see fashion, style, fabric and movement on people. My Motto is if you really really want it, then just do it you only have 1 life to live so go the crazy road instead of playing it safe. You just never know where you will end up. After 10 years of styling, I am very grateful that all my hard work has paid off from all the hardships in the beginning.

What has been the proudest moment of your career so far? The Proudest Moment of My career was when I received warm positive feedback from people not just in the fashion industry but people on the street and around the world. I love when people feel good about the way they dress and feel because you only live once so be happy with yourself.

Tell us more about the struggles you’ve faced along the way. Yes, Struggle is life. Everyone goes through struggles to accomplish what we need to do in order to succeed and advance. There were a couple moments of stuggle in my life, but one of the main struggles was how to reach people with my styling and have them see my fashion eye, however I believed enough in myself even when there were so many stylist in this world I believed and knew that people will recognize my fashion eye one day and they have. Other struggles include being put down a lot by my family because they didn’t support the industry and fashion world, but I knew I had an artistic eye and I knew this was my passion so I kept going.

Is LA a good place to do what you do? I have lived everywhere, but I came back to Los Angeles about 2 years ago because I feel like it is the center of the industry and I needed a base to come back to from working and traveling daily. It is a great place to work in the industry, but honestly speaking careerwise if you have passion knowing what you want to do then you can start anywhere collaborating with artistic people. For people starting out I think New York is a Great Place in addition to LA, the more you travel the better you understand people and inspires your own great style.

Contact Info:

  • Website:sophiawu.4ormat.com

  • Email:sophia.s.wu88@gmail.com

  • Instagram:ssbeachgrl8

bottom of page